One of my customers, Jürgen Klüser, recently purchased my 1812 frigate in 1/700 scale.  Prior to that, however, he bought this:

1_700 trireme

This is a model of a trireme in 1/700 scale.  This is meant to be one of the larger triremes constructed during the Hellenistic Period, with 70 oars (most had around 50).  Of course, a ship like this would also have been typical of a smaller Roman warship.

Anyway, the reason that I bring this up is that Jürgen has quite an extensive collection of models (far larger than my own).  Below is a screenshot of my trireme on his website.Juergen trireme screenshot

For some odd reason, I could not get a higher resolution on any of the photos.  I have the larger one only because he sent to me.  Anyway, you can check my stuff out for yourself on his website (as of this writing, he doesn’t have anything else under my name yet), or check out his homepage for lots of other interesting models.  Most of these models, as you can probably imagine, are commercially available kits (he’s not selling them on his website, by the way), not the 3D-printed oddities that have only recently entered the market to fill in the gaps.  I’m serious about that, by the way.  You try finding models of Greco-Roman warships in your local hobby shop – I don’t know about in Germany, but you certainly won’t have any luck in the U.S.

Anyway, I had another reason for making this post, and that’s because I’m in the process of doing something similar with my own models.  As you might have noticed in the post about the 1812 warships, I’ve been going crazy with the camera lately.  Now that I have a decent set-up, I intend to start posting lots of pictures and doing something similar to Jürgen with my blog.  Granted, I’ll be sticking with my own creations, and I don’t expect to have a particularly large gallery any time soon, but I think that this is something all model-makers should do.  There simply isn’t enough appreciation of this sort of work, even (and perhaps most especially) within the families of people who do this, and without galleries to preserve the careful work, a lot of it is simply tossed out like rubbish.  I’ve managed to save exactly eight model aeroplanes so far, all from my late former employer (that may seem redundant, allow me to clarify: the proprietor of the company I used to work for died while I was still working, but I continued working there for another two years), whose widow simply wanted to get rid of them.  You’ll see them eventually, as I intend to take pictures before I find them proper homes (four of them are quite large, and I think would be better suited to adorning the chart-room at my local aerodrome, rather than my bookshelf).

I’d rather not end on such a negative note, so I’ll leave you with a head-scratcher: my next post (or, at least, the next one with lots of pictures) will likely be about shoes.  Seriously, shoes.

Leave a Reply

