Let’s start with the bomb ship in 1/700 scale.  This model comes in two parts.

DSC_0063

The smallest drill I have is 1mm, but I needed 0.7mm to clean out the mortar barrels.  I used a bent sewing pin instead.

DSC_0066

The mortars after de-spruing and clean-up (removal of tiny printing artefacts, which were far too small for any of my camera lenses to capture, but which stuck out like a sore thumb to my horribly myopic eyes).

DSC_0067

A pair of smooth-jaw, self-closing forceps proved perfect for both installing and positioning the mortars.

DSC_0068

I chose to position the mortars facing both the bow and stern for now.  They snap into place easily, and rotate quite freely (as long as you have something to grab them with, of course).  Since aiming (as imprecise as it is with barrels proportioned like teacups) and loading took so long for early mortars, wargamers who choose to use this model may take a full turn just to position their weapons for their next attack.  Naturally, this depends on what rules you’re playing by, after all, most naval wargames that I know of don’t even use bomb ships.

DSC_0069

Two views of the bomb ship next to the Flying Dutchman.  If you read my previous post, you know why the scale is something of an issue.  The bomb ship is certainly the right size (given that I had actual data to work with), but the Dutchman is absurdly large for a 68-gun galleon.

DSC_0070DSC_0071

The 1/700 and 1/1000 scale bomb ships.  Both of these models can be ordered here.

DSC_0074

The set of 1812 warships.  They look remarkably similar, though the difference is much more apparent in the bottom photo.

DSC_0075DSC_0076

The 1812 warships and an early English galleon.  All the models are supposed to be 1/1000 scale, though I’m not certain if galleons ever got this big back when they still had four masts.  By the way, in case you’re wondering, I used to make all of my model sailing ships trimmed for running, but after issues with the masts twisting inside the plastic bags they were packaged in, my new standard practise became to trim all square sails by 30 degrees.  Twisted and broken masts are far less common now.

DSC_0077DSC_0078

At least this one is accurate, since I had actual blueprints to work with when I made my model of the Preussen.  She’s missing one of her staysails, but that doesn’t matter for the purpose of this photo.

DSC_0079

So, there you have it, two ships that serve as the backbone of any sensible navy during the War of 1812, be it British, French, American, or Russian.  As you probably know, the British were enamoured with three-deck ships-of-the-line as well.  Don’t worry, I’ll have one of those soon enough.

Leave a Reply

